Coaches honoured at annual dinner


THE region’s leading coaches for 2018 have been honoured at the Annual Goulburn Murray Coaches Association dinner held at ‘Barooga Sporties,’ with the 2018 Senior Coach of the Year being announced as Craig Kellow.

The annual event recognises and awards AFL Coaches in all categories across affiliated leagues in the region, with 2018 including for the first time a Netball Coach of the Year.

Nominees and winners of the 2018 GMCA Coach of the Year:

Auskick Centre of the Year Nominees:

Jack Smyth – Nagambie

Mark McGann – Echuca Rockets

Jason Parker – Deakin Reserve

2018 Winner: Mark McGann


Junior Coach of the Year (U12 and below) Nominees:

Tim Hayes – Yea

Ben Hearn – Moama

Steve Hetherton – Saints

2018 Winner: Ben Hearn


Female Coach of the Year Nominees:

Fiona Byrnes – Nathalia

2018 Winner: Fiona Byrnes


Netball Coach of the Year Nominees:

Jessica Bamblett – Rumbalara FNC

2018 Winner: Jessica Bamblett


Youth Coach of the Year (U13 to U18) Nominees:

Rob Allen – Cobram

Tait Collins – Tallygaroopna

Glenn Hart – Kyabram

Rod Mann – St Marys

Dean Walton – Shepp United

Bailey Wileman – Rochester

2018 Winner: Rob Allen


Senior Coach of the Year:

Craig Kellow – Nathalia

Paul Newman – Kyabram

Kevin O’Donoghue – Tallygaroopna

2018 Winner: Craig Kellow