City Mayor appointed chair of regional cities group

REPRESENT... Greater Shepparton City Council Mayor, Cr Kim O'Keeffe, will serve as chair of Regional Cities Victoria. Photo: Stephanie Holliday

THE Mayor of Greater Shepparton, Cr Kim O’Keeffe, has been appointed as chair of Regional Cities Victoria, a leadership group comprising the Mayors and chief executive officers of the 10 largest cities outside Melbourne.

Cr O’Keeffe, along with Mayor of the City of Greater Bendigo, Cr Jennifer Alden, who was appointed deputy chair, will provide leadership to the regional cities group which represents Shepparton, Ballarat, Bendigo, Geelong, Horsham, Latrobe, Mildura, Wangaratta, Warrnambool and Wodonga.

Collectively, these cities are home to more than 600,000 Victorians.
This is the first time a Greater Shepparton Mayor has been appointed the chair, after Cr O’Keeffe previously served as deputy chair of RCV in 2019.

Following Local Government elections across the state, Regional Cities Victoria has welcomed seven new Mayors to the group, which represents regional Victoria’s interests to the State and Federal Government.

“I’m excited to be part of Regional Cities Victoria again, and look forward to bringing my experience to bear as RCV continues to advocate for investment to support sustainable growth in regional Victoria,” Cr O’Keeffe said.

“As we move to a COVID-Normal in 2021, regional cities and communities are already welcoming back visitors from around the state, and we know that regional living has never been more attractive.

“If moving to the country is the next big trend, we need to ensure that we have the infrastructure, services and amenities to accommodate new families and residents, so that we can maintain the unique liveability that regional cities have to offer.”