Locals take out three awards for AFL Victoria

AFL Victoria recently held its Community Football Awards, which recognise the outstanding contributions volunteers make to Australian Football across Victoria.

“We were proud to have three winners from across our region recognised at the awards night,” said AFL Goulburn Murray region manager Shaun Connell.

The Peta Searle Female Coach of the Year (Victoria) was Sam Herron from Seymour Junior Football Club in the Goulburn Murray Junior League.

The winner of the WorkSafe Country Community Volunteer of the Year (Victoria) was Ian Howard from AFL Goulburn Murray and the Goulburn Valley League.

The winner of the AFL Community Club of the Year for Victoria was Rochester FNC from the Goulburn Valley League.

On the subject of the fantastic volunteers who keep local footy clubs viable, “Our volunteers are the lifeblood of Community Football. Our volunteers freely give so much of their time to ensure our great game of Australian Rules Football can be played. It’s fantastic to have three award recipients recognised from our region as what they do is vital. We appreciate each and every volunteer,” said Mr Connell.